Most Canadians who end up at an Irish medical school hear about Atlantic Bridge early. It is the name that comes up in every forum thread and every conversation with a student who is a year ahead.
We want to say what it is, what it is not, and what it costs, because we think people sometimes treat it as the school. It is not. We are not affiliated with Atlantic Bridge and we have nothing to sell you. We read its FAQ page and we describe what it says. [1]
What It Is
Atlantic Bridge describes itself as an admissions program for North American students applying to health-science programs in Ireland. Its office is in Newport Beach, California, and it says it will liaise with the university on a student’s behalf once an offer is accepted. [1]
In medicine, it lists University College Cork, University College Dublin, the University of Limerick, RCSI, the University of Galway, RCSI Bahrain and Trinity College Dublin, with four-, five- or six-year tracks depending on the school. [1] It also covers dentistry, pharmacy and physiotherapy.
Its stated annual intake limits for North American students are up to 350 in medicine, 45 in dentistry, 12 in pharmacy and 30 in physiotherapy. [1]
How the Process Works
You apply through Atlantic Bridge. You receive an acknowledgment within two to three business days. Once all documents arrive, an admissions counsellor marks your application complete and the university committees review it. Decisions are emailed, and the universities issue offers, regrets or waitlist notices. [1]
First-round offers usually come in late February or early March, and late offers can arrive as late as August. [1] The completion deadline for 2027 entry is 31 March 2027. [1]
What It Costs You at the Start
The application fee is non-refundable, and the FAQ does not state the amount, so check the current application page. [1]
After you accept an offer, an enrolment deposit is payable to the university. The FAQ says deposits range from €2,000 to €10,000. [1] A health screening costs about €350, paid to the university. [1]
Atlantic Bridge’s FAQ also estimates living costs at about €28,000 per academic year and labels tuition figures as a guideline only. [1] We would treat its living cost number as a starting point and build your own from real listings. We did that in our cost breakdown. The tuition itself, which for non-EU students runs in the region of €55,000 to €61,000 a year at some schools, is covered in our article on what the degree costs.
Questions We Would Ask
First, what does Atlantic Bridge cost me that I would not pay if I applied directly to the school? Some Irish schools may accept direct applications and some may not, and the answer can change, so ask each school and ask Atlantic Bridge.
Second, what happens to my deposit if I do not take up the place, or if I defer? The FAQ says deposits are payable to the university, so the university’s refund policy is the one that counts.
Third, which track am I being offered? The four-, five- and six-year routes lead to the same kind of degree but cost very different amounts over the whole programme.
What Atlantic Bridge Cannot Tell You
It can help you get into a school. It cannot tell you whether the school is right for your plan to return to Canada, or whether Canadian banks will lend to you. We wrote about the line of credit question separately, and about the 1 August 2026 change to federal student aid.
The FAQ says the Irish medical degree is “recognized and highly regarded all over the world.” [1] That is a marketing claim from an admissions office. For licensing in Canada, the relevant sources are the Medical Council of Canada and CaRMS, which we cover in our guides to the CaRMS application and the MCCQE.
A Note on Who Benefits
Atlantic Bridge is a commercial intermediary. It is not a government body or a neutral guide. We are not saying that to suggest anything improper, only that you should weigh what it tells you the same way you would weigh a recruiter. We would apply the same advice to our own site and say so on our Resources page.
The Bottom Line
Atlantic Bridge is an admissions office that handles North American applications to Irish health-science programs, including seven medical schools, with 31 March 2027 as the completion deadline for 2027 entry. Deposits run from €2,000 to €10,000 after you accept an offer, and the application fee amount is not stated on its FAQ.
Ask what the process costs you compared with applying directly, read each school’s fee schedule yourself, and plan for the cost of the whole degree. Official figures come from the schools and from Atlantic Bridge, not from any blog, including this one.
References
- Atlantic Bridge. (2026). Medical school FAQ. https://www.atlanticbridge.com/faq/
